The Sri Lanka National Cricket Team

The Sri Lanka national cricket team
The Sri Lanka national cricket team

The Sri Lanka national cricket team is also known as The Lions, The Lankans has been the permanent member of International Cricket Council for Tests, ODIs, and T20s. Srilanka is also the ICC World Cup 1996 winner. The team is also monitored by SLC (Sri Lanka Cricket). Sri Lanka though played their first match in 1926-27 but was given Test Status in 1982. At that time, it was the eight team to win the Test status.

After winning the 1996 World Cup, Sri Lanka has been in the news due to many players, till to date Sri Lanka produced many deadly fast bowlers like Lasith Malinga and spin guru Muttiah Muralitharan and produced Worlds greatest batsmen like Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Aravinda de Silva and Marvan Atapattu. Sri Lanka was the runner-up in 2007 and 2011 World Cups.

Sri Lanka won ICC T20 World Cup in 2014 beating India and became the runner-ups in 2009 and 2012. Sri Lanka holds many worlds records including the highest Team Total in Test Cricket.

Leave a Comment