Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL stands for Indian Premier League known as Vivo Indian Premier League. Vivo bought rights for Indian Rupees 439.8 crores from 2018 to 2022. Vivo is a Chinese technology company owned by BBK Electronics. IPL is controlled and monitored by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) which is the central authority in India for the game of Cricket.

IPL is a limited overs game and is considered one of the major T20 Cricket leagues being organized Worldwide. The first season of IPL started in 2008, the purpose of making IPL was to promote and flourish new talent not only in India but from other countries as well.  The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) took challenging and risky steps to launch such limited-overs league in Asia but Indian Cricket board put the estimated base price of the franchise for US $400 Million but it was closed to US $723.59 million which was totally unexpected, since then, IPL has been considered the most secure place to invest. Lalit Modi was the founder and the former Commissioner of the league.

Indian Premier League (IPL)
Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL has unique records, it is the most-attended cricket league till to date in Asia, in 2014 it broke the overall record of audience attendance with full capacity and ranked on 6th position comparing to all other sports leagues including Football leagues. IPL is also the first league to broadcast live matches on YouTube in 2010. According to Duff & Phelps, the brand value of IPL in 2008 was US $6.3 billion.

Background of Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL was formed in 2007 and was majorly funded by Zee Entertainment Enterprises initially, ICL and IPL were two different leagues, major conflict was between the members of IPL and ICL not with the Board of Control for Cricket in India or the International Cricket Council (ICC), therefore, both leagues were operated differently. The BCCI took an initial risky step and increased the prize money to prevent players from taking part in ICL. Board of Control for Cricket in India also called ICL which is a rebel league.

Lalit Modi, who is the mastermind behind this league, first announced the launch of IPL on 13 September 2007 and also spelled out the details of the teams, players, tournament, format and prize money. He also clarified that format of the league was similar to NBA in United Stated and Premier League of England. He explained that they were working on this idea more than two years ago but were afraid of the knee-jerk reaction to the ICL as ICL was badly rejected and faced financial ongoing turmoil and the league was frozen right after the first season.

IPL Prize Money & Awards

Winning Team = Rs. 20 Crore Prize Money

Runner-up Team = Rs.12.5 Crore Prize Money

3rd Place = Rs. 8.7 Crore Prize Money

4th Place = Rs. 8.7 Crore Prize Money

Orange Cap (Leading Run Scorer) = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy

Purple Cap (Leading Wicket Taker) = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy

Most Valuable Player (Having most MVP Points) = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy

IPL Pitch and Ground Awards

Ground Hosting 7+ matches = Rs. 50 Lakh + Trophy

Ground Hosting less than 7 matches = Rs. 25 Lakh + Trophy

IPL Match Awards (Awards per Match)

League Matches – Man of the Match = Rs. 1 Lakh + Trophy

Playoff Matches – Man of the Match = Rs. 5 Lakh + Trophy

TATA Nexon Super Striker of the Match = Rs. 1 Lakh + Trophy

FBB Stylish Player of the Match = Rs. 1 Lakh + Trophy

Star Plus Nayi Soch Award = Rs. 1 Lakh + Trophy

VIVO Perfect Catch of the Match = Rs. 1 Lakh + Trophy + Vivo Phone

IPL Season Award

VIVO Perfect Catch of the Season = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy + Vivo Phone

TATA Nexon Super Striker of the Season = TATA Nexon car + Trophy

FBB Stylish Player of the Season = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy

Star Plus Nayi Soch Season Award = Rs. 10 Lakh + Trophy

Emerging Player Award = Rs. 10 Lakh

Paytm Fair Play Award = Trophy

IPL 2019 Teams

Following 8 Teams are taking part in IPL 2019

  • Chennai Super Kings – Winner of IPL 2018
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad

IPL 2019 Teams & Captains

Sr. No.TeamsCaptains
1Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
2Delhi CapitalsShreyas Iyer
3Kings XI PunjabRavichandran Ashwin
4Kolkata Knight RidersDinesh Karthik
5Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
6Rajasthan RoyalsAjinkya Rahane
7Royal Challengers BangaloreVirat Kohli
8Sunrisers HyderabadKane Williamson

IPL 2019 Teams & Owners

1Chennai Super KingsN. Srinivasan
2Delhi CapitalsSajjan Jindal, Grandhi Mallikarjuna Rao
3Kings XI PunjabPreity Zinta, Ness Wadia, Mohit Burman, Karan Paul
4Kolkata Knight RidersShah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, Jay Mehta
5Mumbai IndiansMukesh Ambani
6Rajasthan RoyalsManoj Badale
7Royal Challengers BangaloreAmrit Thomas
8Sunrisers HyderabadKalanithi Maran

IPL Most Winning Team

Chennai Super Kings = Won IPL 3 Times

Mumbai Indians = Won IPL 3 Times

Leave a Comment