FIBA Basketball World Cup

FIBA World Cup of Basketball is known as the FIBA Basketball World Cup or FIBA World Cup which was founded in 1950, consists of 32 teams. FIBA World Cup was named as FIBA World Championship between 1950 to 2010. It is an International Basketball competition regulated and monitored by the International Basketball Federation (FIBA) which is also the governing body to take care of the basketball related stuff.

Structure of the Basketball World Cup is identical to FIFA World Cup which is known as the world famous football event having the most number of viewers worldwide. Both competitions were played in the same year from 1970 to 2014. A parallel event is also held for women players known as FIBA Women’s Basketball World Cup in the same year when men’s World Cup is held. The winner among 32 teams will be awarded the Naismith Trophy. The United States beat Serbia to win last FIBA Basketball World Cup in 2014.

FIBA Basketball World Cup
FIBA Basketball World Cup

In 1994 FIBA World Championship which was held in Canada, for the first time, American NBA players participated in this World Cup event. Next World Cup will be held in China. Different channels will broadcast this World Cup live.

Who won the FIBA Basketball World Cup?

There is a list of countries who won the FIBA Basketball World Cup till to date.

FIBA Basketball World Cup Winners

YearHostGold SilverBronze
1950ArgentinaArgentinaUnited StatesChile
1954 BrazilUnited StatesBrazilPhilippines
1959ChileBrazilUnited StatesChile
1963BrazilBrazilYugoslaviaSoviet Union
1967UruguaySoviet UnionYugoslaviaBrazil
1970YugoslaviaYugoslaviaBrazilSoviet Union
1974Puerto RicoSoviet UnionYugoslaviaUnited States
1978PhilippinesYugoslaviaSoviet UnionBrazil
1982ColombiaSoviet UnionUnited StatesYugoslavia
1986SpainUnited StatesSoviet UnionYugoslavia
1990ArgentinaYugoslaviaSoviet UnionUnited States
1994CanadaUnited StatesRussiaCroatia
1998GreeceYugoslaviaRussiaUnited States
2002United StatesYugoslaviaArgentinaGermany
2006JapanSpainGreeceUnited States
2010TurkeyUnited StatesTurkeyLithuania
2014SpainUnited StatesSerbiaFrance
2019China - 2019 Basketball World Cup liveN/AN/AN/A

Medal Table

The United States and Yugoslavia have won Gold Medal for 5 times and The United States is the current World Champions of the world. The USA has won the world cup twice in row i,e 2010 & 2014.

Sr No.CountryGold SilverBronzeTotal
1United States53412
2 Yugoslavia53210
3Soviet Union3328

Leave a Comment