Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

BCCI stands for Board of Control for Cricket in India which was founded in 1928, its Headquarters is located in Wankhede Stadium. On 31 May 1926, BCCI was affiliated with International Cricket Council. BCCI earns more than the US $1 Billion per year by governing and giving rights of different tours and leagues. Indian Cricket Board stands first in Aisa in terms of profit and revenue.

Board of Control for Cricket in India is the national governing body for cricket in India and also held responsible to take care of the conflicts and code of conduct portrayed by ICC which overall checks and monitor the efficiency of Cricket game worldwide.

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)
Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI)

This board was first formed and registered under the Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act back in 1928. State Cricket Associations elect the Chief of BCCI. Its logo is comprised of British Raj emblem and Order of the Star of India during the colonial period.

First All-India Cricket team was captained and sponsored by Gauri Shanker when All-India team visited England in 1912. Two representatives of the Calcutta Cricket Club traveled to London to attend meetings of the Imperial Cricket Conference which is known as International Cricket Council these days. Both representatives met Lord Harris, the Chairman of the Conference.

MCC’s took a decision to send their England team to India lead by Arthur Gilligan who also captained England in The Ashes Series.  Gilligan met Maharaja of Patiala and requested to establish a single controlling body, for this purpose, a meeting was held in Dehli on 21 November 1927 attended by different personalities of Dehli, United Provinces, Gwalior, Alwar, Patiala, Rajputana, Central Provinces, Kathiawar, Punjab, and Sindh. The conclusive decision was made on 10 December 1927 to form a Board for Control of Cricket in India.

BCCI was formed under Tamil Nadu Societies Registration Act in December 1928 with 6 associates. RE Grant Govan was the first President of BCCI and Anthony de Mello was the first Secretary.

Today BCCI is an autonomous body and is not governed or financed by Indian Govt. BCCI holds the record of generating maximum revenue from first audition of IPL (Indian Premier League) in 2008 in Asia. Global rights of IPL are awarded to STAR India for the US $ 2.3 Billion from 2018 to 2022. Sponsors Rights for 5 years awarded to Nike for US $51 million from 2016 to 2020. Oppo became the official sponsors for Indian Team, rights sold to Oppo were of US $ 150 Million for the period of 5 years. Zele Telefilms got rights for US $ 219.16 million.

BCCI organizes the following domestic cricket events and leagues stated as under.

  • Irani Cup
  • BCCI Corporate Trophy
  • Ranji Trophy
  • Duleep Trophy
  • Indian Premier League (IPL)
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy
  • Senior Women’s One Day League
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Headquarter

Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

BCCI President

C.K. Khanna

Leave a Comment